#36 Meeting with Book Agents

11:54 am Okay, it’s official. I am meeting with a book agent Thursday, around 11.30. Presumably this meeting is about my book. The person is a literary agent, and wants to meet with me. However, I have never done this before.

I searched “How to meet with a book agent” on Google. Seriously. I DID find the following useful information in this article by Adler Books:

How should I approach an agent?

“In a word, professionally. Everything you send an agent should look as neat and organized as you can make it. Most agents prefer the initial contact be made in writing; after all, the written word is the stuff of the book business. Agents have different policies about what they want to see in introductory submissions. For example, some agents want one or two page letters; some want just a chapter and an outline; some want just a proposal; some want the entire manuscript. Check the agent’s policy before making any submission. (A phone call to the agency’s office asking about the company’s submission policy is fine.)”

Here is a kind of snarky article called “How to meet an agent and not look like a nitwit.

1:25 pm AAAhhhhh! Okay, she wants to see my book proposal and first chapter ASAP! At one point, I just had a proposal. That I redid. Like a hundred times. And then checked Twitter. And then got coffee. You know the routine. Finally, something CLICKED and I spurted out this outline in 10 minutes. I told my comrades and partners in my Sisterhood of Success “Okay, I’m ready.” And they gave me tips, and copies of cover letters, and proposals. And, one of them -who is very well-known and well published – said, “You need a first chapter that grabs them by the throat.” So, that took more time. But, here I am, basically prepared, getting ready to meet with an agent (who I can trust and I’m told is a good fit for me) on Thursday.

How did this happen? Short answer – some business zen, trigger pulling + mentors (of course – #sisU).

How did I go from freaking out in the last post to having a meeting with a book agent? After the last post, I paused, and realized: Hey – okay – this is clicking. It’s working. People are into it. So, stop whining!

Then, worlds collided, stars aligned (insert some phrase like this here) and Sam Horn (who has been a big advocate and mentor of mine and the Hot Mommas Project), introduces me to her agent. So, I’m meeting with her on Thursday before a Women’s Leadership Webcast at Mastercard. We also wanted to meet with one of our cool judges from last year who is a Tony Award winning Broadway producer, but, he is kind of  busy – uh- producing Tony Award winning Broadway shows. Mejor, Senor!

Wish me luck

Wish me luck, and we’ll see what happens. I have no idea what I’m doing, but I’ll be taking notes and will share what I learn with you. That is, unless I have to sign away my first-born or something in this meeting. My daughter would do it in a heart beat, I’ll tell you that! Here’s the conversation this morning, walking back from camp with my daughter:

Me: “Lilah, did you know mommy had a crazy dream last night where there was a third kid in our family?”

Lilah: (4 years-old) “Well, I wish we could get rid of Maxwell.” (Her 7-year-old brother).

Geez  – maybe I should bring her to the meeting. TAKE NO PRISONERS.

Anywhoo, my hope is that over the next couple of weeks I may have some interesting learnings to share here re: meeting with a book agent.

###

About the Hot Mommas Project

Proud of the women in your life? So are we. The Hot Mommas Project is the world’s largest women’s case study library. Said in “normal people” terms: This is the award-winning research of faculty member Kathy Korman Frey of the George Washington University School of Business, CFEE.  The project makes women’s stories teachable using our “case wizard” at www.HotMommasProject.org . The Hot Mommas Project library is the first of its kind, providing scalable, global access to role models and virtual mentors that can be used by educators, trainers, and parents. We’ve been featured in Prentice Hall textbooks, the Washington Post Magazine, NPR and are the winner of a national Coleman Foundation case award.

How to get involved:

1. Join the sisterhood. Did you know access to mentors and role models increases real and perceived success? Email us for your Mission Instructions for the New Sisterhood of Success. You’ll impact a life in five minutes.  Click here.

2. Nominate a woman in your life, yourself included. Our call for 2011 nominations has begun for dynamic women 18 and older. While the contest runs through January 31, 2011 – Start now! There will be prizes this spring and fall for early bird publishers. Nominate here. See last year’s winners here.

3. Share your story. Winners are published in a major Prentice Hall textbook and your lessons are shared with women, girls, and educators across the globe. It’s one of the most scalable, time-efficient way to make an impact.No, you do not need to be a mom. Nominate yourself here.

How sharing your story works: Nominated women come online, write their story using our “case wizard,” and click “publish” to be permanently archived in our case library.  Winners will be published in a leading Prentice Hall textbook.

Find us on Twitter.

To inquire about sponsorship, email us. We have offer visibility via social media, large university events, and category sponsorship of our permanent, free, online case library. Sponsors range from the Charles Schwab foundation, to philanthropists, to professional women pooling resources to sponsor an award.

Our 2010 press release.

2 thoughts on “#36 Meeting with Book Agents

  1. Pingback: Summary of Posts 4 – Building a Million Dollar Business Part Time « Hot Mommas Project blog
  2. Hi there I am so thrilled I found your blog page, I really found
    you by accident, while I was researching on Yahoo for something else, Anyways I am here
    now and would just like to say thanks a lot for
    a tremendous post and a all round interesting blog (I also
    love the theme/design), I don’t have time to go through it
    all at the minute but I have saved it and also added in your RSS feeds, so
    when I have time I will be back to read a lot more, Please do keep up the awesome
    b.

Leave a Reply

