#19 How We Hired an Intern on Twitter (yes..Found, Interviewed, Hired)

 Here is Brandy. She is our new intern. Isn’t she adorable?

Twitter-size pic of Brandy

Twitter-size pic of Brandy

She is smart as a whip and responsive beyond belief too. She is actually totally overqualified to be an intern. She is a virtual assistant – and a fabulous one who gets paid. But she wants to help US – The Hot Mommas Project – because she is inspired and wants to give back. Here is how we found her, and hired her, 0n Twitter.

twitter_logo_header

It all started when I posted the following on Twitter:

 Posted by ChiefHotMomma

Please RT: The Hot Mommas Project is seeking 2 unpaid interns. Must have interest in women’s leadership. #BeAnIntern mkting/tech/outreach6:37 PM Jun 10th from Adjix

The RTs (re-tweets) began and the Twitter Sisterhood rose powerfully from their desks, parked cars, playdates, and boardrooms into the Twitterverse. Each of the women below put our intern listing out to their networks, representing a good 40,000 people.  And, here they are, the Twitter Sisterhood that helped us find Brandy:

@ladyday93 @jillfoster @digitalsista @gingerlatte @sarahrobinson @jessicaknows @e_wendt @tcwsonja @danavshelley @AFashionista @lydiafernandes

I DMed (Direct Messaged) Brandy my email so she could send me her resume. This all took place Thursday.

Friday, I decide “Hey…Why don’t we just conduct the entire interview on Twitter?” I knew my kids could wake up at any minute and a phone call would be pointless. We used a #BeAnIntern (search term) on Twitter and also used www.TweetChat.com to help organize.took place piece by piece as I:

1. Got my kids breakfast.

2. Took my son to school.

3. Played in the playground with my daughter.

4. Walked to Starbucks – of course – with my daughter.

5. Watched Dora with my daughter. 

I extended the offer to Brandy right as Dora was ending. So, that is officially the best Dora The Explorer I’ve ever not watched. My daugher was cuddled up beside me, Brandy was knocking all the interview questions OUT OF THE PARK (in 140 characters or less), and I wound up with HELP. Which – as we ladies know – is what we so desperately need. 

The Hot Mommas Project needed someone smart, flexible, who believed in our cause, and who “gets it.” Kids screaming in the back? No problem. Internet access out at the university where I teach? No problem. Brandy can roll with us for sure.

WELCOME ON BOARD BRANDY! Find Brandy’s blog here. She is a virtual assistant. Hire her!

 

6 thoughts on “#19 How We Hired an Intern on Twitter (yes..Found, Interviewed, Hired)

  1. Thank you so much! I had a blast doing my first Twitter interview and I truly believe I will fit in with the team and be a great fit! Didn’t realize you were doing so much “behind the scenes”, but then again I had my 10 month old and 2 year old eating breakfast and doing diaper changes while interview was taking place too 😉 Looking forward to being a part of the Hot Mommas Project!

  2. Hi,

    COOL to meet you!

    Ohh yes!! There is soooo many ways to make money online. It is some good once and some that are not good at all. I have walked the long way to find out what did work and what did NOT work.

    Do Not Chase The Money – Give Value & Let The Money Chase You. That`s how it works!

    But it is true though, the good ol`cliche: “The Money Is In The List”.

    List building is something you should NEVER skip in your efforts to make money online.

    I have written a cool free guide how I build my list quite fast and effective.

    I have got some really great feedbacks from it… It`s definitive worth a read.

    Thanks for the advices 🙂

    All the best
    André Thomassen

    “Failure Lies Not In Falling Down – Failure Lies In Not Getting Up”

  3. Pingback: Hot Mommas Project |
  4. Pingback: Summary of Posts 3 – Building a Million Dollar Business Part Time « Hot Mommas Project blog
  5. I just figured out that my computer has this kind of trojan. I was running pretty much all of the Anti-virus things my computer has. The main one says there is nothing there and my Windows defender says I have two trojans so I’m not sure what to do. I’m thinking of buying or building a new one. . Right now I have intel. Im not sure which is best like Dell, Miscrosoft, etc. I need a gaming computer which can also be used as a school work computer. Any ideas?.

Leave a Reply

